Current Students

Ph.D. Candidates

Alamoudi, Sarah
Interested in applied linguistics, second language learning, classroom environment, and technology integration.
salamoudi@education.ucsb.edu

Alfrayan, Reem http://www.linkedin.com/pub/reem-a-alfrayan/5/467/748/
Developing a new generation of Saudi businesswomen leaders. Research interests are directed to policy reform for entrepreneurial development in the Saudi educational system, and workforce.
ralfrayan@education.ucsb.edu

Al-Rawaf, Rusha http://ucsb.academia.edu/RushaRawaf
Museum Education, Quantitative Research Methodology, Program Evaluation, Survey Design & Research.
airawaf@education.ucsb.edu

Aragon, Maria
Bilingual Education, Multiculturalism, Critical Pedagogy, Immigration, Education Policy
maragon@education.ucsb.edu

Ashlock, Miles
Educational leadership and organizations, Higher Education, Student Affairs, Leadership Development, Multicultural Education
mashlock@education.ucsb.edu

Austin, James
Literacy Studies, International writing programs, Education in the Middle East Programs & Departments in Transition
Creative Writing
jaustin@education.ucsb.edu

Avila Reyes, Natalia http://ucsb.academia.edu/NataliaAvilaReyes
International Sites of Writing, Writing Program Administration, Higher Education and Professional Writing, Writing Across the Curriculum, Advanced Literacies, Genre Theory, Digital Literacies
navila@education.ucsb.edu

Baharav, Hadar
Research Methodology, Secondary Data Analysis, Survey Design & Research, Structural Equation Modeling, Longitudinal Studies, Latino/a Education, Immigrants, Postsecondary Education
hbaharav@education.ucsb.edu

Baker, Gabriel
Narrative-based and game-based learning, digital pedagogy, classical and web language learning, Latin, online literacy, mobile education.
gbaker@education.ucsb.edu@education.ucsb.edu

Balatayo, Jomeline
Second-Language Acquisition, Bilingualism, English Language Development, Teacher Education & Professional Development, the Education of English Language Learners, and Common Core State Standards,
jbalatayo@education.ucsb.edu

Baldwin, Erika
Quantitative Research Methodology, Program Evaluation, Latent Class Analysis, Latent Growth Modeling, Secondary Mathematics Education, Algebra Placement Practices, Gender differences in STEM subjects
ebaldwin@education.ucsb.edu

Becerra, Joaquin
Research Interests include: Educational Leadership, Educational Policy, Masculinity, Chican@/Latin@ Students, Hispanic Serving Institutions, Access, and Diversity Education.
jbecerra@education.ucsb.edu

Bravo, Magali
Latina/o Parent-Adolescent Health, Communication and Relationships
mbravo@education.ucsb.edu

Breed, Kimberly
Effects of disciplines-based & strengths-based models of authentic learning on student engagement, agency & identity formation
kbreed@education.ucsb.edu

Carpenter, Stacey
Science Education, University Science Education Outreach, Higher Education, Teacher Education
scarpenter@education.ucsb.edu

Choi, Jane http://ucsb.academia.edu/JaneChoi
Language and social interaction, discourse analysis, Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts, bilingualism and biculturalism, second language acquisition, heritage language maintenance
jchoi@education.ucsb.edu

Corella Morales, Meghan
Bilingualism, SLA, ESL and EFL, Language Proficiency Assessment, Sociocultural Linguistics, Applied Linguistics, Social Justice, Language, and Education
mcorellamorales@education.ucsb.edu

Covarrubias, Henry
Issues of Diversity and Equity of Access for Underrepresented Students, Latina/o Graduate Student Identity, Sociocultural Theory, Hispanic-Serving Institutions, Higher Education Policy, Critical Race Theory, and Community Cultural Wealth.
hcovarrubias@education.ucsb.edu

Crocco, Kyle
Visual rhetoric, visual identity, second language writing development, business and technical writing.
kcrocco@education.ucsb.edu

Dang, Myley
Math Education, Math Attitudes, Careers in STEM, Latent Class Analysis, Longitudinal Data, Evaluation
mdang@education.ucsb.edu

De Piero, Zack
Writing, WAC/WID, First-Year Composition, Creative Writing, Pedagogy, Educational Technology, Affect
zdepiero@education.ucsb.edu

Dippre, Ryan ucsb.academia.edu/RyanDippre
Secondary and postsecondary writing instruction; writing development
rdippre@education.ucsb.edu

Dodds, Robin
Special Education, Families and Disability, Stakeholders and Disability, Early Childhood Special Education, Inclusion, Disabilities Rights, Autism, Low Incidence Disabilities.
rdodds@education.ucsb.edu

Dwyer, Hilary
Mathematics Education, equity and access, gender, postsecondary mathematics, computational thinking, STEM education
hdwyer@education.ucsb.edu

Eliopoulos, Nick
Learning
neliopoulos@education.ucsb.edu

Emerson, Anne http://ucsb.academia.edu/AnneEmersonLeak
Science and Engineering Education, Program Evaluation, International Education, Education in Developing Countries
aemerson@education.ucsb.edu

Enté, Angela P.  https://ucsb.academia.edu/AngelaEnte
Autism Spectrum Disorders, Sex Education, Parent Training and Education, Family Support
aente@education.ucsb.edu

Estrada, Maricela (Mari) ucsb.academia.edu/MariEstrada
Small Group Work, design of work teams, development and use of Professional Learning Communities, Assessment of available Knowledge, Skill & Expertise to complete the task, Professional Development and Leadership
mariestrada@education.ucsb.edu

Fematt, Veronica
Community Colleges, Transfer Students, Higher Education Policy, Equity and Diversity in Education, Survey Design, Mixed Methods
vfematt@education.ucsb.edu

Galicia, Mario http://ucsb.academia.edu/MarioGGaliciaJr
Urban education, school to prison pipeline, ethnographic research methods, program evaluations, Latina/o urban youth culture, immigrant education, critical pedagogy
mgalicia@education.ucsb.edu

Gonzalez, Lorna http://ucsb.academia.edu/LGonzalez
Language, Literacy, & Composition (specialization, Technology & Society (PhD emphasis, Focus: New Media Composition & Information Visualization
lsgonzalez@education.ucsb.edu

Grigsby, Timothy http://ucsb.academia.edu/TimothyGrigsby
Digital story telling, After school programming, Cultural Historical Activity Theory, UC Links / Fifth Dimension, Teacher education
tgrigsby@education.ucsb.edu

Grimm, Ryan http://ucsb.academia.edu/RyanGrimm
Reading disabilities, Reading comprehension, English Language Learners, Special Education assessment, Research methods and latent variable modeling, and Neuroanatomy of learning disabilities
rgrimm@education.ucsb.edu

Grossman, Hannah
International Education, Science Education, Cognitive Science, Secondary Science, Cultural Border Crossing, Experiential Learning, Adult Education, Science embedded in everyday life
hgrossman@education.ucsb.edu

Haddow, Gary
Reintegration and education of Liberian Refugees back into their homeland with the closure of West African (Sierra Leone, Guinea, and Ghana) refugee camps.
ghaddow@education.ucsb.edu

Hallowell, David http://ucsb.academia.edu/DavidHallowell
Child & Adolescent Development (Interdisciplinary Emphasis in Cognitive Science): Spatial Reasoning, Early Geometric Reasoning, Neo-Piagetian Theory (Case & Okamoto), STEM Education, Construction Play (LEGO Engineering & Robotics)
dhallowell@education.ucsb.edu

Hao, Jing
Internationalization of Higher Education, Intercultural Adaption, Institution Services for International Students
jhao@education.ucsb.edu

Harvey, Cynthia
Children's historical thinking, Social Studies Education, International and Comparative Education, Moral Education
charvey@education.ucsb.edu

Harvey, Victoria
Teaching and Learning, Teacher education and professional development, teacher candidate problem formulation
charvey@education.ucsb.edu

Hirsch, Tijana
SLA, Bilingualism, Multilingualism, Family Language Policy, Heritage/community language maintenance, ESL/EFL, Sociocultural Linguistics, Language assessment, Psycholinguistics, Language & Cognition.
thirsch@education.ucsb.edu

I-Tremblay, Erika
Writing; Teaching of Writing; Development of L2 writing; Writing across the curriculum
ei@education.ucsb.edu

Iveland, Ashley
Science education, engineering education, technology education, environmental science education, elementary -- higher ed., engineering design thinking, outreach programs, community college outreach.
aockey@education.ucsb.edu

Jiang, Yan
Second Language Teaching and Learning, Inter-cultural Communication
yjiang@education.ucsb.edu

Jones, Aaron http://ucsb.academia.edu/AaronJones
Student movements and student agency in affecting societal change.
ajones@education.ucsb.edu

Joo, Jenna (Ji Eun)
Second Language Acquisition/Education, Vocabulary Learning/Assessment, Lexical Inferencing, Technology-mediated Learning
jjoo@education.ucsb.edu

Kim, Ann Y
My research interests are in the areas of ethnic/racial identity, immigrant family dynamics, parent-child relationships displayed through language, quantitative methodology.
akim@education.ucsb.edu

Kim, Jiyeon
Child and family outcomes of early childhood services, Autism spectrum disorders, Disability policy and families
jkim@education.ucsb.edu

Kim, Sunny (Jung Sun)
Research interests: autism spectrum disorders; Specialization: improving social skills in individuals with autism and training school staff
kim@education.ucsb.edu

La Joy, Jonna
Mathematics and Science Education and Learning, Child and Adolescent Development, Quantitative Research Methodology
jlajoy@education.ucsb.edu

Langlo, Tatzia http://ucsb.academia.edu/TatziaLanglo
Education, Cultural Impact in Education and Development of Global Learning Teaching Communities, Cognition and learning, Language, Identity, and Power
tlanglo@education.ucsb.edu

Lee, Wona
Bilingual language development, Dual Immersion Program, Heritage Language Maintenance
wlee@education.ucsb.edu

Maaia, Levi http://ucsb.academia.edu/LeviMaaia
Digital literacies, Teaching and learning, Technology-enabled learning programs, STEM to STEAM curriculum development.
lmaaia@education.ucsb.edu

Mainz, Elizabeth
Second-language acquisition, Bilingual/multilingual students, Teacher Identity and Philosophy, Applied Linguistics
emainz@education.ucsb.edu

Meyr, Justine
Technology and Second Language Acquisition
meyr@education.ucsb.edu

McGowan, Susannah
Learning Design, Assessment, Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, Conceptual Web Design/information Architecture, Practical Application of Learning Theory to Technology, Grant writing for curricular innovation and/or assessment, Online course design and development
smcgowan@education.ucsb.edu

Mcintosh, Sean
Special education focus- Transition programs(workforce and higher education), disability studies, special education teacher preparation, low-incidence disabilities, assistive technology
smcintosh@education.ucsb.edu

Montgomery, Laquita Spivey http://ucsb.academia.edu/LaQuitaMontgomery
Culturally and linguistically diverse families of children with disabilities, parent-to-parent support groups, access and equity, applied behavior analysis in schools and communities
lspivey@education.ucsb.edu

Moon, Sungmin
Science Education (STEM/STEAM Education), Program/Project Evaluation, Quantitative Research Methodologies
smoon@education.ucsb.edu

Morgan, Micaela
STEM Transfer Students, Community Colleges, Quantitative and Qualitative Methodology, Higher Education, Program Design and Evaluation
morgan@education.ucsb.edu

Morovati, Diane
I am generally interested in different types of methods used to analyze large scale national data sets. The majority of my own research incorporates a type of latent variable model known as latent class analysis (LCA).
dianemorovati@education.ucsb.edu

Navaez Cardona, Elizabeth
Teaching and researching on higher education writing, Teacher Education and Faculty development programs in Latin America
enavaezcardona@education.ucsb.edu

Nguyen, Dana
Special Education, Autism, Family and Disability, Parent Training and Services for Families from Culturally Diverse Backgrounds
dnguyen@education.ucsb.edu

Ogilvie, Andrew http://ucsb.academia.edu/AndrewOgilvie
Genre Theory, Hispanic Serving Institutions
andrewlive@gmail.com

Oliver, Kelsey
Autism, Applied Behavior Analysis, parent training and education, family support
kelsey@education.ucsb.edu

Orton, Haley
Organizational Culture, Organizational Theory, Job Satisfaction and Job Engagement (especially higher education administrators and staff), Qualitative Methods
horton@education.ucsb.edu

Otto, Kara
Interdisciplinary emphases: Writing Studies, Applied Linguistics
Research: Second Language Writing for International Undergraduate Students, WAC/WID, Engagement in Writing Tasks, L2 Student Writer Identity, Academic Writing in Foreign Contexts, Qualitative Research
karaotto@education.ucsb.edu

Pai, Hui-Ju
After-school program, minority, Comparative and international Education
pai@education.ucsb.edu

Park, Kyusang
Mixture models such as latent class model, restricted latent class model and diagnostic classification model, and their application to educational measurement
kpark@education.ucsb.edu

Phommasa, Malaphone
Southeast Asian American Education, Higher Education Persistence & Retention, Educational & Occupational Aspirations
mphommasa@education.ucsb.edu

Pieng, Patrick
Early childhood education, children's conflict resolution, theories of mind, emotion recognition, and movement/dance intervention.
ppieng@education.ucsb.edu

Rogel, Zuleyma
Latino Parental Engagement
zrogel@education.ucsb.edu

Sarmiento, Charlyne
Genre theory, Writing research across the disciplines and communities, and Civic engagement and community literacies
csarmiento@education.ucsb.edu

Sciaky, Elizabeth
Higher education, STEM, program evaluation, online education, internationalization
esciaky@education.ucsb.edu

Soni, Meghna
My interest is on how children learn fractions or proportions and specifically how to improve their learning of them .
msoni@education.ucsb.edu

Starr, Billi Jo
My research interests are prevention and intervention methods for meeting the academic and social/emotional needs of students, specifically those with emotional and behavioral disorders (EBD), special education advocacy for ethnic minority youth in the juvenile justice system, and the school to prison pipeline for youth with educational disabilities..
bstarr@education.ucsb.edu

Sterling, Ken MBA
Online learning: how to assess needs and use hybrid education to enhance learning. Creating entrepreneurship programs for colleges (especially liberal arts colleges).
ksterling@education.ucsb.edu

Sublett, Cameron
Instructional technology, pedagogy and policy in online/distance/massive learning in community colleges.
cmsublett@education.ucsb.edu

Sun, Hala
Research interests are heritage language maintenance, education policies related to racial equity, impact of national/state language and education policies on immigrant students' academic performance, bilingualism/multilingualism, second language acquisition, parents' role in children's education, and ensuring social relevance in language classrooms.
hsun@education.ucsb.edu

Talawat, Puttoei
Mathematics Education, Professional Development, Probability and Statistics, Assessment
ptalawat@education.ucsb.edu

Tran, Connie
Southeast Asian Americans, ethnic identity, gender, higher education, parent involvement.
ctran@education.ucsb.edu

Trust, Torrey http://ucsb.academia.edu/TorreyTrust
Educational technology, instructional design, social media, web 2.0 tools, teaching and learning with technology, and teacher education.
ttrust@education.ucsb.edu

Wang, Tiange
Bilingual Education, Two-way Immersion Programs, SLA, Applied Linguistics
twang@education.ucsb.edu

Warneke, John
Educational Anthropology; Cultural Production; Sikh and Punjab Studies
jwarneke@education.ucsb.edu

Williams, Charles
Educational Leadership and Policy, Title I Schools, K-12 Teacher Pedagogy, Student-Athletes, Program Evaluation, Educational Technology, Higher Education, Grant Writing
cwilliams@education.ucsb.edu

Witenko, Vanessa
Social Network Analysis; Mixed-Methods; Sociology; Social Capital; Race; Mixed-Methods; Educational Equity; K-12 Public Education.
vwitenko@education.ucsb.edu

Wu, Ti http://ucsb.academia.edu/TiWu
Writing Studies, Second Language Writing, Multilingual writing, writing and social orgnization, cognitive science, international students
twu@education.ucsb.edu

Yale, David
Kinesthetic K-12 STEM Learning and Enrichment Curriculum, Next Generation Science Standards - Relevant and Fun Implementation
Early Childhood Computer Science/Computational Thinking
dyale@education.ucsb.edu

Yang, Rong
Second/foreign language teaching and learning, Technology and Education, Comparative Education and Cultural Studies
ryang@education.ucsb.edu

Zaks, Keren
Professional development, Lesson Study, Teaching and Learning, Math Education
kzaks@education.ucsb.edu

Zhang, Yu
Research interests include creating intervention strategies to improve young children's numerical development. Currently involved in research concerning preschoolers' mathematics cognition.
yzhang@education.ucsb.edu

Zugnoni, Michele
Literacy Studies, Teaching College-Level Writing, Composition and Rhetoric, Assessment of Writing, Expressivism, Quantitative Methods
mzugnoni@education.ucsb.edu

M.A. Candidates

Alcala, Mayra
Community Colleges, First-Year Experience Programs, Transfer Students, Former Foster Youth in Higher Education
malcala@education.ucsb.edu

Brake, Sherice
Second Language Acquisition, Cultural influences on learning and interactions amongst preschoolers, Outdoor Classroom Environment, Autism, Linguistics
sbrake@education.ucsb.edu

Casillas, Elizabeth
Special Education, Behavioral Interventions, Academic Interventions, Bilingual Parent Training, Parent Teacher Interactions
ecasillas@education.ucsb.edu

Heller, Christina
K-12 Science Education, Issues of Equity in Science Education
cheller@education.ucsb.edu

Johnston, Katherine
Positive Adaptation, Stress, and Social Support in Fathers of Children on the Autism Spectrum
kjohnston@education.ucsb.edu

Kelsee, Kennedy
Teacher Education, Autism, AAC devices, Food Flexibility, Direct Instruction, Positive Behavioral Support in Cultural Context, English Language Learners & School Staff Training
kkennedy@education.ucsb.edu

Killian, Alexandria
Science Education, Teacher Education, Equity and Access
akillian@education.ucsb.edu