Policy Goes to School lecture

Policy Goes to School Lecture Series

UC Santa Barbara’s Gevirtz Graduate School of Education announces the 2019-20 “Policy Goes to School” Lecture Series. The talks – all free and open to the public – will examine areas where current academic research sheds light on policy dilemmas in education.

Fall Quarter

Anna BargagliotiiMonday, December 2, 4-5 pm, 1207 Education Building

Anna Bargagliotti, Professor of Mathematics, Seaver College of Science and Engineering, Loyola Marymount University

“Are Universities Adequately Preparing Students for Our Data-Driven World?”

[press release]

Winter Quarter

DeMarcus JenkinsTuesday, January 28, 12-1 pm, 4108 Education Building

DeMarcus Jenkins, Assistant Professor of Educational Policy Studies & Practice, College of Education, University of Arizona

“(Re)Centering the Race-Space Nexus in Education Policy Research”

[press release]

Spring Quarter--Event Canceled Due to COVID-19

Chelsea Guillermo-WannMonday, May 4

Chelsea Guillermo-Wann, Santa Barbara Unified School District

(We do hope to reschedule this talk at some point in the future.)



Carolyn Sattin-BajajAny questions on the Policy Goes to School annual lecture series? Please contact Carolyn Sattin-Bajaj.




The previous Policy Goes to School lectures:


October 22, 2018
Lucrecia Santibañez, Claremont University, “Bilingual Education on the Rise: Will the Teachers Be There?”

March 18, 2019
David Blazar, University of Maryland College Park, "Challenges and Tradeoffs of 'Good' Teaching"

May 6, 2019
Shaun Dougherty, Vanderbilt University, “Teacher Turnover in Career and Technical Education”


November 17, 2017
Dr. Daniel Klasik, George Washington University,  “Not Everyone Wants to Go to Stanford: Geographic Variation in Where Students Apply to College”
Dr. Jason Taylor, University of Utah, “Delivering the Promise: Assessing the Salt Lake Community College Promise Program”

January 29, 2018
Cassandra Guarino, UC Riverside, “Are Women Taking Care of the Academic Family?”

June 6, 2018
Rachel Baker, UC Irvine, “Understanding and Affecting College Students’ Path to Success”


October 12, 2016
Michael Gottfried, UC Santa Barbara, “Children with Disabilities in Full-Day Kindergarten: Effects & Policy Implications”

January 30, 2017
Ethan Hutt, University of Maryland College Park, “Long-Term Relationships: How Longitudinal Datasets Shaped Our Views of Educational Attainment, Inequality, and the American School System”

June 5, 2017
Brooks Bowden, North Carolina State University, “Simplifying Cost Research Design for Educational Field Trials”