Gevirtz School News

March 24, 2020

  • Henry Chase, Taylor Hamilton, and Inell Chase

    Donor Henry Chase, 2020 Guerrier "Hope" Fellow Taylor Hamilton, and donor Inell Chase

    Taylor Hamilton of UC Santa Barbara’s Gevirtz School was named the recipient of the 2020 Guerrier “Hope” Fellowship. The “Hope” Fellowship is awarded to Teacher Education Program credential students who demonstrate the sense of personal...

March 23, 2020

March 18, 2020

March 17, 2020

March 13, 2020

March 11, 2020

March 10, 2020

March 9, 2020

March 7, 2020

  • The Faculty in the Department of Counseling, Clinical, and School Psychology (CCSP) at UCSB affirms the rights of students to learn and, when they are employed by the university, their rights to engage in collective action, including...

March 6, 2020

March 4, 2020

March 3, 2020

March 2, 2020

  • Matthew Bennett
    This week we caught up with Matthew Bennett, a first-year PhD student in Science and Math Education in the Department of Education, but his specific interests are in science education in high school settings and teacher education. His...
  • the 2020 President's Educator Fellows

    The 2020 President's Educator Fellows (l-r): Eliane Nascimento, Emily McLaughlin-Montero, Hollyn Toomey, Tessa Hutchison, Natalia Alvarado (not present: Kelsey Maganaris)

    Gevirtz Graduate School of Education Teacher Education Program students Natalia Alvarado (single subject credential, English), Tessa Hutchison (single subject credential, Mathematics), Emily McLaughlin-Montero (multiple subject credential...

February 27, 2020

  • CalTeachTogether Club on their visit to the REEF

    CalTeachTogether Club on their visit to the REEF

    The students in the CalTeach program at UC Santa Barbara have formed an official club called CalTeachTogether. CalTeach is a University of California system-wide program to recruit, prepare, and support exceptional K-12 teachers in science...

February 25, 2020

  • Herb Tuyay, Kayla Simone, Ann Lippincott

    The 2019-2020 Tuyay Memorial Fellowship awardee Kayla Simone (c) with Herb Tuyay (l) and Ann Lippincott (r)

    Kayla Simone of UC Santa Barbara’s Gevirtz School has been chosen as the 2020 Dr. Sabrina Tuyay Memorial Fellow recipient. This fellowship acknowledges teacher candidates who have shown a commitment to providing thoughtful literacy and...
  • Alyssa Hudson
    This week we caught up with Alyssa Hudson, a Teacher Education Program candidate working towards an Education Specialist Credential with an emphasis in Mild/Moderate Disabilities and a Master's of Education. Alyssa received a Bachelor of...

February 24, 2020

February 20, 2020

February 19, 2020

  • The 2020 Dr. J Student Fellows

    The 2020 Dr. J Student Fellows, with donors (l-r): Connor Cox, Christian Banuelos, Joe Beyers, donor, Morgan Remy, Kathy Beyers, donor, Becky Dressen, John Romo, donor, Ann Lippincott, donor, Bridget Sandoval, Natalie O'Sullivan, Samantha Rojas, Kevin Valdez (not pictured, Noelle Ferrer)

    The Teacher Education Program at the Gevirtz Graduate School of Education at UC Santa Barbara has named its 2020 Dr. J Student Teacher Fellows: Christian Banuelos Connor Cox Becky Dressen Noelle Ferrer Natalie O’Sullivan Morgan Remy...