Alumna Jacqueline Reid appointed to Santa Barbara County 2nd District Commission for Women

Friday, November 18, 2022
Jacqueline Reid, Department of Education alumna

Alumna Jacqueline Reid of UC Santa Barbara’s Gevirtz School was appointed as a 2nd District Commissioner for the County of Santa Barbara’s Commission for Women. The Santa Barbara County Commission for Women is dedicated to ensuring the equal status and well-being of women in Santa Barbara County. The Commission advises the Santa Barbara County Board of Supervisors on public policies that aim to promote women’s access to equitable health care, affordable and quality childcare, economic and workplace advancement opportunities to close the gender wage gap, and to support survivors of sexual assault, domestic violence, and human trafficking.

Reid (Education, Ph.D., ’12) also holds both an M.Ed. and Multiple Subject Credential (K-12) from Pepperdine University. Dr. Reid is the current National Director of the newly launched Women in Leadership Certificate Program at Antioch University Distance and Extended Education. She is also the Director/Coordinator of the newly launched Women in Leadership Certificate Program for Santa Barbara City College School of Extended Learning.  She is the former Director of Education Programs at Antioch University Santa Barbara (AUSB), and she is a former Teaching Faculty member, teaching courses in the Master of Arts in Education (MAE) program with an emphasis in Social Justice and Educational Leadership. She is also the past Director of the Women in Leadership Certificate Program at Antioch University Santa Barbara. Further, she is the former Co-Director of the non-profit that she launched in 2012, Teachers for the Study of Educational Institutions (TSEI), to engage P-20 educators in a collaborative effort to provide opportunities for all students to develop academic literacies and cultural proficiencies necessary for 21st-century college and career readiness. Reid represented the Santa Barbara Unified School District as a Board Trustee from 2016-2020, holding the elected positions of President, Vice President, and Clerk.