Carolyn Sattin-Bajaj chosen as an Outstanding Reviewer for the American Educational Research Journal

Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Carolyn Sattin-Bajaj and the cover of the American Educational Research Journal

Carolyn Sattin-Bajaj from UC Santa Barbara’s Gevirtz School has been chosen as an Outstanding Reviewer for the American Educational Research Journal (AERJ) for 2021. The letter announcing this honor says, “AERJ would not be the leading journal it is today without the professional assistance of reviewers such as yourself.” Sattin-Bajaj was recognized at the 2022 American Educational Research Association (AERA) Annual Convention in San Diego in April at the Journal Publications Committee Reception.

The American Educational Research Journal is the flagship journal of the American Educational Research Association, featuring articles that advance the empirical, theoretical, and methodological understanding of education and learning. It publishes original peer-reviewed analyses that span the field of education research across all subfields and disciplines and all levels of analysis. It also encourages submissions across all levels of education throughout the life span and all forms of learning. AERJ welcomes submissions of the highest quality, reflecting a wide range of perspectives, topics, contexts, and methods, including interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary work.

Carolyn Sattin-Bajaj is an Associate Professor in the Department of Education. Her research focuses on issues of educational access and equity for immigrant-origin youth and other historically underserved student populations. Her work includes exploratory qualitative studies of immigrant and homeless families’ school choice behaviors; experimental research to develop and test interventions to reduce educational inequities; and studies of school leaders’ responses to xenophobia in schools and society and their sense of preparedness to address the consequences of immigration enforcement and racism for their school communities.

Carolyn’s work has been funded by the William T. Grant Foundation, the Spencer Foundation, the Smith-Richardson Foundation, the Heckscher Foundation for Children, the New York Community Trust, and the American Educational Research Association.

[Carolyn Sattin-Bajaj is available for interviews; contact George Yatchisin at]