Gevirtz School News

June 23, 2021

June 22, 2021

  • Noreen Balos, Clare Washington, and Jenny Sperling

    Clare Washington (center), with fellow Department of Education students Noreen Balos and Jenny Sperling

    Clare Washington graduated with a Ph.D. from the Department of Education. Her research focuses on the career paths of women of color in historically white universities in California. After graduating, she plans to teach full-time and take...
  • 2021 Methods University website screencap
    Registration opens 1 July 2021 for Methods University. Methods University, housed in UC Santa Barbara’s Gevirtz School, will offer multi-day intense workshops on a specific methodological topic. These workshops are geared for graduate...

June 21, 2021

June 17, 2021

June 15, 2021

June 14, 2021

June 9, 2021

June 8, 2021

June 7, 2021

June 4, 2021

  • the 2021 President's Educator Fellows

    The 2021 President's Educator Fellows: (top row, l-r) Katie Brown, Caylin Carrillo, Joanne Rhee, (bottom row, l-r) Eleanor Skladman and Kalena Tamura

    Katie Brown, Caylin Carrillo, Joanne Rhee, Eleanor Skladman, and Kalena Tamura, all students in UC Santa Barbara Teacher Education Program, are the recipients of the 2021 President’s Educator Fellowships. Brown and Rhee are pursuing...

June 3, 2021

June 1, 2021

May 27, 2021

  • Valentina Fahler
    Valentina Fahler is the recipient of the 2021 Phillip and Helen Green Travel Fellowship. Valentina is a fourth-year doctoral candidate in the Department of Education with an emphasis in language and literacy. Her research focuses on...
  • the 2021 Glikbarg Fellows

    The 2021 Glikbarg Fellows: top, l-r: Melissa Chavez, Veronica Flores; bottom, l-r: Julianna Lopez, Darby McIllroy

    Melissa Chavez, Veronica Flores, Julianna Lopez, and Darby McIllroy are the recipients of the 2021 William and Charlene Glikbarg Family Foundation Fellowship. This fellowship supports Teacher Education Program students who have made a...
  • Trinity Suriano, Janine Coutright, Haley Leifheit, three of the four 2021 Gevirtz Fellows

    The 2021 Gevirtz Fellows (l-r): Trinity Suriano, Janine Coutright, Haley Leifheit (not pictured: Mackenzie Griffin)

    Janine Courtright, Mackenzie Griffin, Haley Leifheit, and Trinity Suriano are the 2021 Gevirtz Fellows. The Gevirtz Fellowships are awarded from an endowed fund dedicated to supporting GGSE programs, activities, and students who have...
  • Lili Talkin
    Lili Talkin is the recipient of the 2021 Martha Aldridge Promise Award. Talkin is pursuing a Multiple Subject Teaching Credential and a master’s degree in education in the Teacher Education Program. Martha Aldridge was a UCSB staff member...
  • Hillary Voight
    Hillary Voigt has been awarded the 2021 Peggy Fredericksen Memorial Fellowship.  This fellowship fund was created to honor and sustain the memory of Peggy Fredericksen, who received her B.A. in Elementary Education from UCSB in 1951 and...

May 26, 2021